Skip to main content
HomeMVS Memorial Scholarship

MVS Scholarships

The Merrimack Valley Striders running club awards scholarships to local high school seniors at the May MVS General Club Meeting.

The scholarships are given to eligible seniors preparing for college who have participated in cross country, indoor track or outdoor track during their high school years. All high schools through-out the membership area are notified of this scholarship opportunity. The students must submit a profile form along with an essay on "What running means to me" demonstrating their character and dedication to running.

In addition to the $2,000 scholarship, recipients receive a five-year membership in the Merrimack Valley Striders and one entry into the Feaster Five race held on Thanksgiving morning in Andover.


Scholarship Application

2017 Recipients


The 2017 MVS scholarships were awarded to this year's recipients at the May General Meeting held at Salvatore's on May 31, 2017.  Merrimack Valley Striders awarded a total of $16,000 to eight high school graduates.


Congratulations to the 2017 MVS Memorial Scholarship winners!  


High School


Andover High School

Ryan Case

Haverhill High School

Kelly O'Brien

Lowell High School

Christopher Polanco

Masconomet Regional High School

Erin Madden

Methuen High School

Sarah Dockham

North Andover High School

Amanda Novak

North Reading High School

Thomas Helms III

Wells (ME) High School

Brian McMahon


Click on the image to view essay highlights

 2017 MVS Scholarship Essay Highlights
The 2017 MVS Scholarship recipients in the front row are, from left, Brian McMahon (Wells High School), Sarah Dockham (Methuen High School), Thomas Helms III (North Reading High School), Ryan Case (Andover High School), Christopher Polanco (Lowell High School), Kelly O'Brien (Haverhill High School), and Amanda Novak (North Andover High School.)  Missing from photo is Erin Madden (Masconomet Regional High School.)
MVS Scholarship Committee presenters in back, from left: Charlie Farrington, Carolyn Burt, Scott Martel, Beth Shiff, John Jannetti, Jim Laprel, Pamela Reilly, and Donna Phaneuf.

Scholarship History

The MVS Memorial Scholarship program honors the memory of five members: Mike Dowe, Greg Gumbinner, Dean Peterson, Sam Denopoulos and Ralph Rockwood who died at early ages and "exemplified the character and dedication to running and fitness that the MVS organization encourages".



The Memorial Scholarship Fund began in 1998 and has awarded over $84,000 in scholarships to date.  Money comes from individual club member donations, as well as large annual donations from the Andover Feaster Five and Ogunquit Lobster Dash race proceeds.






  • The MVS Scholarship Fund depends on charitable donations from generous groups and individuals.   If you want to contribute to  this program that helps regional high school graduates transition to college, please feel free to donate from the link below.  Your charitable donation is tax-deductable.



MVS Scholarship Fund.